What causes dark circles around your eyes?

There are many possible causes. lack of sleep or over sleeping. allergies, including hay fever. reduced levels of fatty tissue around the eyes. thinning skin under the eyes lets your skin become dull and pale, allowing for dark tissues and blood vessels beneath your skin to show up as dark circles.