What was the treaty of versailles about?

The Treaty of Versailles is the most controversial armistice treaties in history. The treaty's so-called “war guilt” clause forced Germany and Central Powers to take the blame for World War I. This meant a loss of territories, reduction in military forces, and reparation payments to Allied powers.