What is the difference between flapjacks and pancakes?

In the US, the terms flapjacks and pancakes are close to synonymous. In the UK, pancake is used to describe a crepe type breakfast item, while flapjacks describes an item containing oats and brown sugar that is baked into a bar similar to a granola bar.