What happened to jeannie mai on dancing with the stars?

Jeannie Mai Opens Up About 'Near Life-Threatening' Abscess That Forced Her to Withdraw from DWTS. ... So when Mai, 41, was told that she would have to withdraw from Dancing with the Stars after being diagnosed with epiglottitis and suffering from a parapharyngeal abscess, she was "devastated."