Why is it called a flee market?

The term "flea market" originated with the French "marché aux puces". It translates to "market of the fleas", and referred to the likely flea-infested used merchandise.

---

Flea market comes from the French, marché aux puces, a name originally given to a market in Paris which specialized in shabby second-hand goods. The kind that might contain fleas.