When did m. t. v. first air?

On Saturday, August 1, 1981, at 12:01 AM Eastern Time, MTV was launched.

---

August 1, 1981

---

MTV ... (also known as) Music Television ... first aired on August 1, 1981 ... with a video by ... The Buggles ... aptly titled ... "Video Killed the Radio Star."