How fast do indy five hundred cars go?

In 1996 Arie Luyendyk set the all-time one-lap average speed record on Fast Friday of 239.260 mph. In qualifying, which IMS uses for official records, he turned the fastest official lap ever at 237.986 mph and a record-setting four-lap average of 237.498 mph.