What is a halo in halo?

The Halo Array, sometimes known simply as Halo or the Array, is a network of colossal ring-shaped superweapons individually known as Halos or Halo rings, constructed by the Forerunners. The Halos were referred to by the Covenant as the Sacred Rings. The Halos in game are 10,000 kilometers across.