What mixes with whiskey?

Lots of things. Water, cola, ginger ale, sour mix. To make an old fashioned put half a tspn of simple syrup with 3 shakes of bitters in the bottom of a rocks glass. Add large ice cube and pour your desired amount of whiskey over the ice and stir.