What are the lego pieces called?

The basic Lego pieces are named by their thickness and the number of studs on top. The thin pieces are tiles while the thick ones are bricks. 1 by 2, 2 by 3 and 2 by 4 are common stud names. Other names like the flower, bracket and slope describe their shape or function