What is the fastest wind ever recorded?

On the 10th April 1996 an automatic weather station on Barrow Island, Australia, registered a maximum wind gust of 408 kmh or 253 mph

---

On the 10th April 1996 an automatic weather station on Barrow Island, Australia, registered a maximum wind gust of 408 kmh or 253 mph