What is a medusa tattoo mean?

A Medusa tattoo can be a protection from evil or a symbol of the victims. Medusa as a symbol of female power and the ability to destroy one's enemies. The symbol of her head was used by the French Revolution as a symbol of French liberation and freedom. She is the Goddess of philosophy and art.