What happens if lightning strikes a house?

Lightning can cause serious damage if it strikes a house. The risk of fire is very high. Lightning commonly ignites flammable material in and outside of buildings. Lightning can travels through electrical wiring destroying the wires. The surge can also damage appliances & electronics like computers.