What's the difference between jelly and chutney?

Popular in Indian cuisine and available in gourmet shops, chutney is a spicier jam that gives a nice contrast to heartier main dishes. Most chutneys are jams without pectin. Chutneys also are made with a low amount of sugar and with an addition of vinegar, dried fruit, and spices for savory notes.