What is a vector file?

Vector files are images built by mathematical formulas. They can infinitely adjust in size without losing resolution and are more versatile for certain types of tasks than raster files based on pixels. Common types of vector files are: dot a.i., dot e.p.s., dot p.d.f., and dot s.v.g.

---

A Vector file is an image in Graphic Design that is made up of paths, points, lines, shapes, and curves that are rooted in mathematical formulas. They are used because unlike Raster files, they scale perfectly for flawless image quality.