How many founding fathers of the united states are there?

Founding Fathers is sometimes used to refer to the 56 Signers of the embossed version of the Declaration of Independence in 1776. The following are identified as key Founding Fathers: John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and George Washington