Is glass a rock?

Neither solid nor liquid, glass is often called a rigid liquid. In nature, glasses are formed when sand and or rocks, often high in silica, are heated to high temperatures and then cooled rapidly. Obsidian or volcanic glass, is molten rock that has quickly cooled, becoming rock in a glassy state.