How can you tell a steak is bad?

You can identify bad meat by smell usually, but if it's got a greenish tint, or it has an oily, rainbow-y sheen to it, it's either bad or nearly bad, and you should not eat it.

---

There are several rules to live by if a steak may have gone bad. The use-by date has passed. You can't remember how long it's been in your refrigerator. It looks for feels "slimy". It is dry and you don't see any juiciness to it. It doesn't smell good. Remember, better safe than sorry.