How old do you have to be to rent a hotel room in the united states?

In general, the age requirement to reserve a hotel room in the U.S. is 18, with some locations being 16, while others require guests be at least 21. Different states have their own rules. The 21-&-over requirement is at each hotel's discretion, but expect this in major cities. Call ahead & inquire.