Why do americans refrigerate their eggs?

In America, eggs are refrigerated because the USDA requires eggs sold for consumption to be washed, processed, and then refrigerated before they are stocked on store shelves. Most European and Asian countries do not require eggs to be wet-washed, and therefor not refrigerated.