How do you know if ground meat is bad?

If you're not sure your ground meat is still good, lean close and smell it. If the meat smells sour or unpleasant, it's probably bad and you should discard it. If it seems okay, use your fingers to test the texture. Meat that has turned bad will feel sticky, tacky, or slimy and should be thrown out.