What is double strike in magic the gathering?

Double Strike is an ability that gives the creature two hits per attack or block. The first hit acts like First Strike while the second hit acts as normal. If a creature with Double Strike would deal enough damage to destroy the opponent creature in the first hit, then it takes no damage.