Is it possible to choke on your own tongue?

Yes, it is possible to choke on your own tongue, however the occurrence of this is rare since one has to be suffering from a fit such as caused by epilepsy where the muscles of the entire body go haywire and the tongue twists such that it lodges itself in the throat. Again, this is a rare happening.