What was sam smith's first big hit?

The first big hit for Sam Smith came when Smith teamed with house duo Disclosure on the track “Latch,” recorded and released in 2012. As a solo artist, the first critical and commercial worldwide hit can in 2015 with the soundtrack to James Bond's Spectre, and the song Writing's on the Wall.