What's the definition of index?

An index, spelled I-N-D-E-X, refers to something that "points the way." Common examples include an alphabetical list of names, topics, etc., with references to find them; or an indication or measure of something; or a pointer on a gauge or similar instrument; or the finger next to the thumb.