What is u. t. c. minus five mean?

UTC-05 is a time offset that subtracts 5 hours from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). It is observed in the ACT, COT, CST, ECT, EST, PET during standard time, and in the CDT, EASST during the other months (Daylight saving time).