How is cinnamon processed?

Cinnamon farmers first shave the outer bark off the trees, and then shave off the inner bark -- the cinnamon layer. The cinnamon is then dried for use. When cinnamon is dried, it naturally curls up into "quills." Those quills are then cut into sticks or crushed into a spice powder.