What happened in eighteen twenty two?

Action of 9 November 1822: USS Alligator (1820) engages three pirate schooners off Cuba, as part of the West Indies anti-piracy operations of the United States. Greek War of Independence: Nafplio falls to the Greek rebels. The Congregation of St. Basil founded in France.