What kind of doctor does colonoscopies?

Several types of doctors can do colonoscopies, but most often it is a gastrointestinal physician. A gastrointestinal doctor is someone who has completed medical school, residency, and a fellowship in gastrointestinal medicine.

---

Gastroenterologists perform colonoscopies.