What is centerstone?

A precious or semi-precious gemstone placed within an engagement ring's head, as the focal point. Many gemstone and diamond rings, pendants, and brooches have multiple stones. For these jewelry pieces, the main stone in the center - which is the focal point of the piece of jewelry.