Why are moms called moms?

Mom is widely believed as born from the much older word “mamma” which can be traced back to the 1500s in English, where “mamma” meant “breast”, or “teat”. From this word, we also got the word “mammalia,” and later “mammal”, to describe animals that suckle their young.