What is mccullough versus maryland?

McCulloch vs Maryland is a US Supreme Court case that helped to define the extent of Congress's powers. The Court ruled the "Necessary and Proper" clause of the Constitution gives Congress the power to legislate as needed to fulfill its enumerated responsibilities.