How long does it take for chocolate to expire?

If unopened and stored properly, dark chocolate lasts 2 years. If opened, but still stored properly, the rule of thumb is one year. As for milk and white chocolate bars, the time is cut in half. One year if unopened and stored properly, and 6-8 months if opened and stored properly.