Why does coffee smell so good?

Coffee's smell is due to the many aromatic volatile chemicals it contains. At least 19 of them have been determined to have a role in coffee's aroma, including (E)-beta-Damascenone, 2-Furfurylthiol, 3-Mercapto-3-methylbutylformate, 3-Methyl-2-buten-1-thiol, and 2-Isobutyl-3-methoxypyrazine