What was the amount of the louisiana purchase?

In 1803 the United States paid France fifteen million dollars for the 828,000 square mile Louisiana territory. That was about $18 per square mile. The total cost of all subsequent treaties and financial settlements since then is estimated to be 2.6 billion dollars.