What is green shoe option?

The greenshoe option, also known as the overallotment option, allows underwriters to sell more shares (than the agreed number) during initial public offering. Under this clause, underwriter is permitted to sell up to 15% excess shares than initially agreed number within 30 days of issuing an IPO.