Is b. a. t. e. a. word?

Yes, "bate," spelled B-A-T-E, is a real word in English. It means to restrain something, or reduce its intensity. It's this form that makes the correct usage of the phrase "waiting with bated breath."

---

Yes, batea is a shallow pan used in gold washing.