What is the eternal mangekyou sharingan?

According to Madara, the Eternal Mangekyō Sharingan is proof an Uchiha has continued to push forward despite experiencing great losses. The Mangekyō Sharingan also grants its user the ability to read and decode the Uchiha Clan's Stone Tablet.