Why do people raise peacocks?

The male of the species is a beautiful bird with a dazzling fan of colorful feathers. Strutting about the yard, it demands attention, its iridescent feathers shining in the sun. They are also good watch dogs and peafowl consume a variety of insects, as well as snakes, amphibians and rodents.