How often do cicadas hatch?

Cicadas hatch every 2 to 17 years, depending on the species. The larvae live just beneath a tree's bark and live on the tree's sap. When they mature, they dig burrows beneath the soil and live on tree roots. Every 2 to 17 years, they come to the surface to mate and lay eggs.