How long do ice ages last?

How long do ice ages last? It depends on whether you're talk about big ice ages or the little ones that happen within the larger periods. Earth has undergone 5 big ice ages some lasting for hundreds of millions of years. Earth is in a big ice age now, which explains why the planet has polar ice caps