What does the band r. e. m. stand for?

Vocalist Micheel Stipe says he found and selected the name REM at random from a dictionary. To many, the initials are known as shorthand for “rapid eye movement,” which is the dream stage of sleep during which one’s eyes dart around under their eyelids.