How do you light a furnace in minecraft?

Open the fuel door of the furnace, add fuel items such as coal, logs, planks , and sticks. Move the item you wish to smelt or cook into the top of the furnace. When you have both fuel and something to be smelted or cooked, the furnace will light automatically.