How many grizzly bears are in the world?

There are currently about 55,000 wild Grizzly bears total located throughout North America and they were added to the List of Endangered and Threatened Wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem in July of 2019. Only about 1,500 grizzlies live in the lower 48 states of the US, mainly in Montana.