What is the war of bunker hill?

The battle of Bunker hill was fought on june 17, 1775 in Charlestown, Massachusetts. Although the American rebels lost the battle it was noteworthy because they fended off 2 assault waves by British forces, and only retreated during the 3rd wave because they ran out of ammunition.