When did elvis presley start?

In 953, Elvis cut a record at Sun Records for his mother, he paid $4 to record it. Sun recognized his talent. His first single was "That's Alright," through Sun. In 1955, he signed with RCA, and "Heartbreak Hotel" became his first hit, reaching number one on the charts.