How many different kinds of pasta are there?

There are over 50 distinct types of pasta, and even more when you add in all the different size variants.

---

There are over 600 pasta shapes, each with a delicious purpose. Long pasta, short pasta, pasta that can be stuffed, pasta for soups- the uses for pasta are endless! There are some shapes and sizes that are better suited for holding sauces in their ridges, while others are better for being baked.