What temperature does water have to be to kill bacteria?

To kill bacteria, you have to boil the water 212°F 100°C for at least 10 minutes - that would eliminate the vast majority of it, along with viruses and protozoa. Most of the time you remove or rinse away bacteria vs kill it example hand washing and dishes.