Why is diesel fuel more expensive than gasoline?

From eia.gov: 1. Demand for diesel fuel is relatively high. 2. The transition to less polluting, lower-sulfur diesel fuels in the United States affected diesel fuel production and distribution costs. 3. The federal excise tax for diesel fuel is 6 cents per gallon higher than the tax on gasoline.