What is the difference between a deer and a reindeer?

The 2 main groups of deer are (1) Cervinae,including muntjac, elk, red deer, & fallow deer; & (2) Capreolinae, including reindeer, white-tailed deer,roe deer, & moose. Reindeer are one of the largest species of deer. In North America reindeer are called carribou; so both are exactly the same animal